30 July 2015
Media Release - #2015069, 2015

Appointment of part-time members to the Takeovers Panel

I am pleased to announce the appointment of five new members to the Takeovers Panel.

The purpose of the Panel is to provide a mechanism for peer review of takeovers activity, with the aim of being more efficient, less formal and more expeditious than the courts. The functions and powers of the Panel are conferred by the Corporations Act 2001 and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001.

The members appointed to the Panel are:

Ms Stephanie Charles

Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans

Ms Karen Phin

Ms Sarah Rennie

Mr Bill Koeck

All members have been appointed until 29 April 2018.

These appointments will maintain the high level of skills and experience available to the Panel, ensuring that it has appropriately qualified members to deal with the range of complex issues which are raised in applications.

The panel now has 43 members (including the President), all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis.